• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Hearing Protection in an HD situation

Hearing protection in a deadly encounter is your last priority. Bottom line is that you will not have time to run get your plugs & muffs.

There is good evidence that you will not hear the blast; and may not even have any physical damage to your hearing (such as ringing). I have no experience in this but can find reliable sources as needed.

I recently purchased some amplified earmuffs to use in a HD situation (if time permits.) It would be the last thing I'd worry about but want the option available. I have multiple layers of protection that "should" give me adequate time to put them on.

As for their effectiveness, I just took them to an indoor range this week to try them out. I had them amplified so I could hear normal sounds. Then, before I could get a round off with my HD shotgun, a guy two lanes over unleashed a hellishly loud full-auto rifle. (The range rents full-autos). Although it was not deafening, it still was not very comfortable. I don't think those amplified muffs were designed to handle full-auto rifles. When he ran out of ammo I quickly put in my foam plugs as well.

However, I figure if those amplified muffs made an extremely loud full-auto rifle endurable then they should work fine in a HD situation. Again, they would be the last thing I went for after arming myself.

I was considering the ryobi noise cancelling muffs I used them all day in a house on my buddies 12" compound miter saw worked very well not sure of gun fire though?

I agree with blacksmith on this one. The last thing you need to worry about at 3am with your front door just being kicked in and 3 armed dirt bags are coming in your house is putting on earmuffs.
Practice and know the layout of your house,and know your gun. Then practice more.

bwalker said: