• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

The 590 Shockwave; where is it legal to own?

Rossignol

The Original Sheriff
Global Moderator
Sponsor
Im not buying one anytime soon but I've been told by a friend in Texas who was looking to buy that the online sites say they won't ship to Texas or Ohio and several other states.

What I'd like to do here, with some audience participation, is fill in the blanks to help answer "is it legal for me to own in my state?"

I know several of you have already purchased or ordered one. I looked online to see if I'm able to purchase or own one here but it's the internet. It's just people talking and sometimes they really don't know. I even looked at ohios statutes. You wanna know how that worked out? I'm a welder. I'm really good at welding. I'm not a lawyer.

So I called my local sheriffs department. No answer and left a message. I called my states attorney general. One of the first things they say is that anything they say should not be considered legal advice. Ok so just tell me the law. The fact is, they don't know. The highest law enforcement branch within the state does not know. They said call the ATF. But I already know what the ATF says. So then they said to call the companies and ask why they won't ship them here. Ok, I'll try that.

As soon as I know, I'll post it here.

If anyone else wants to add their state and the status of being able to purchase or own, please be my guest.

Last edited:
Texas law does not have a definition which would apply or exclude the shockwave. That has led to some "chicken littles" fearing arrest for owning or selling one.