• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

First NRA Highpower Match

Water Monkey

The man, the myth, the monkey
Supporter
Did my first service rifle match over the weekend. Had a fun time. Lots of things I need to work on. And got some help and tips from some of the master and high master shooters on the line after the event to tighten up my foundation.

Had to borrow a rifle from the club due to the fact my Garand build wasn't cycling properly so I'm still problem solving that. So with an unfamiliar rifle and being a complete noob on how a full match and shooting program is run I had a pretty terrible run in standing. I thought it was going to be 2 sighters, 10 shots, break. Then do the second 10 shot string but it turned out to be 22 shots for 22 minutes with the first 2 shots going towards your sighters. I misunderstood and was fumbling around for more ammo halfway through it. Rushing and pushed shots off. As you can see in the scores.... might as well used a shotgun.

Sitting I did better and I sighted in better. But my form is a little off. I got some help on my form and I hope I can refine that position to be more consistent like my prone.

Prone I did well for the 300 yard target for rapid fire.

Prone slow fire was the same as standing - 22 shots for 22 minutes. I paid attention to that but I should have slowed down and adjusted as I went along. I was pulling left and I could have corrected if I wasn't a rush monkey.

All in all... an experience. You can only get better from sucking.

Do shit that challenges you.

Water Monkey

35036538193_853b89b551_z.jpg

This is exciting despite the score!

And I feel the way you do about being challenged. I get bored with stuff if I'm not. I always look ok forward to the next time to see what I can do differently.

I'm glad you're enjoying it.

I think you did good.