• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Metal Shavings in Barrel???

Bigapark

Copper BB
Hi All,

I have a new Mossberg 590 Shockwave. I was at the range today shooting it and when I got home and started cleaning it, There were lots and lots of metal shavings coming out of the barrel. The gun was clean before I started shooting it.

I was afraid the lining of the barrel was coming off, but eventually I was able to clean them all out. I was shooting 00 Buck (9 lead pellets). Is this normal when shooting lead buckshot? I have limited experience with shotguns and would appreciate any help.

It could be some leading. Depends a lot of the composition of the shell you used. Not much else should be leaving metal shavings.

A lot of buckshot uses wads, but some do not.

The ones that sit in the wad are less likely to cause leading because the pellets are held inside the wad through the duration of being shot in the bore.

Though the ones in a wad cause another issue with the plastic fouling.

It could be some leading. Depends a lot of the composition of the shell you used. Not much else should be leaving metal shavings.

A lot of buckshot uses wads, but some do not.

The ones that sit in the wad are less likely to cause leading because the pellets are held inside the wad through the duration of being shot in the bore.

Though the ones in a wad cause another issue with the plastic fouling.

Thanks for the reply. I am hoping it is just leading. The shells I am using are clear and I can see the 9 pellets sitting at the top of the shell, they are not in a plastic wad.

It's probably leading.

Do you have a magnet that you can check them with?

It's probably leading.

Do you have a magnet that you can check them with?