• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

A few 590A1 Questions

josixpack

Copper BB
I am new to the shotgun world and little torn between the 590A1 18.5” model #50774 and the 9 shot XS Ghost Ring + 4 Stock model #51771. The gun will be my HD, range fun gun and possible IDPA and 3 -Gun Matches at a local gun club.

I know I am asking a lot but I will not be able to handle the guns before my purchase other than inspecting it before taking ownership from my FFL so I was hoping to get a few questions answered.

Is there an advantage/disadvantage as far as sighting in your target between the XS Railed Ghost Ring and the Winged Ghost Ring sites? I understand the winged rear sight adds the extra protection and durability. If I went with the 20” 51771 and didn’t like the XS railed rear ghost site would the winged rear ghost site work with the front sight that comes on the gun if I swapped the rear sights out?

The appealing factor of the 18.5” 50774 is the shorter barrel and less weight when loaded with shells and the Tri-Rail, Synthetic, Shotgun Forearm so I can easily add a light. However, I cut a piece of PVC down to 39” and wielded that around my house. Then I added 1.5” to that and wielded that around my house to act as the length of the two guns. From a maneuverability stand point the shorter barrel seems would only be helpful if I needed too quickly spin around in a hallway or stairwell so that may not be a factor for me however, weight may be a different story.

The picture on the Mossberg website of the 18.5” 50774 shows a shorter tube with an end cap on it where the pictures from the online gun shops shows the tube flush with the barrel and no end cap. What would I be getting if I ordered one? I kind of like the end cap on the shorter tube, could the endcap be added to the longer tube?