• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

New 590A1 question

11BRAVO20

Copper BB
I bought a brand new Mossberg 590A1 from my local gun store and have a couple of questions. I have the 51771 model number (XS ghost rings, Tri-rail for end, 20" barrel, speed feed stock and 8+1 capacity). Receiver is marked 590A1 but the barrel is marked (590)? Does this model have the "heavy walled barrel"? On Mossberg's website in the 590A1 Tactical shotgun section it states that the 51771 has a heavy or thick walled barrel, however the stated weight of the shotgun (7Lbs) is the same weight as the 500 series with same length barrel......I am beginning to think I did not get the "heavy walled barrel" on my model.
pic1.jpg
IMG_20180223_230236699.jpg

Last edited:
I don't believe they ever offered a standard 590 with the XS ghost ring sights, but I'm pretty new to the game. Wait for one of the more established members to come in here to either confirm or correct me. perhaps a better lit picture of the muzzle as well will help.

11Bravo20,

I have basically the same model. It's the Blackwater Series 590A1.

MFR#: 51772

UPC: 015813517720

Features:

3" Chambered in 12 Gauge
Heavy-Walled Barrels, Metal Trigger Guard and Safety Buttons Built to Mil-Spec Demands
20" Barrel, 9-Shot Capacities
Tri-Rail Forend and Tactical Light Forend Models
Free Gun Lock/10-Year Limited Warranty Included

Specifications:

Gauge 12
Chamber Size 3"
Capacity 9
Barrel 20"
Sights XS Ghost Ring - AR Style
Chokes Cylinder Bore
Overall Length 41"
Length Of Pull 13.875"
Barrel Finish Parkerized
Stock Synthetic (Black - SpeedFeed)
Weight 7.25 lb

I measured my barrel thickness at the muzzle and it's 0.110" or so.