• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

"New" 464, first range report

I'm new to lever guns, and got this 464 a couple of weeks ago. It was a used gun, though I don't know how much use it really saw. Owner said he didn't fire it much and it was collecting dust so he decided to sell it. The action seemed a little stiff to me, but I have no point of comparison. I worked it for awhile (200-300 times? Wasn't really counting...) and that seems to have helped quite a bit. I also cleaned and lubricated it lightly. Going by how stiff it was initially vs now, I'm guessing the guy was being straight with me about having not used it much. The bore was clean and bright, but I don't think he did much to clean the rest of it.

Just eyeballing the sights, they looked like they were way off to the left... and I was right. My son and I were shooting little targets we printed out at 25 yards. It was cold and very windy (gusting to 25 or better), but the wind was at least coming straight from behind us. Even resting on the bench though, it was hard to stay steady. We didn't have any sandbags or anything. My son had brought his new air gun, which he's very proud of, and was having better luck hitting his targets than I was. :)

At 25 yards, I was hitting 6-8" left of center and about 3"-4" high. I couldn't get the sights to budge in the dovetail and had the sight adjusted as far right as it would go.

When we got home, I put a piece of leather between the barrel and the sight, then put a punch on the sight body (the spring part) and tapped it with a small hammer a few times. Eyeballing it now, it seems to line up with the barrel pretty well. I'm wondering if the previous owner had taken the sight off, and put it back on when he went to sell it? No way to know.