• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

I don't want to shoot through my house and into my neighbors' so which shotgun ammo?

I live in Indiana and see houses being built with plastic siding, 1" hard foam sheets on the out side wall. Walls are both 16" and 24" 2x4's on center with 4" batting type insolation and 1/2" sheetrock. Houses must be 8' from the line so are 16' apart. You would be real surprised what #8 bird shot will do fired stright though at 10' not hitting a stud. Fired at an angle the shot that misses the stud will hurt or kill if it hits flush, dog, cat. or human. Look for the lowest speed round that will cycle your gun and not open over 5" at the max distant you will shot in your house.

I disagree. But I am a stubborn combat shotgun veteran so what do I know.

Do not clear your house call a cop! Stay in a safe room with your people gun covering the door. If god forbid you have to shoot that should give you a couple of walls before shot could get to the neighbors wall.

And make sure you rack the slide REAL LOUD on your pump gun!!!! That'll get them bad guys running for an exit!!!!!!

:lol:

Anything smaller than #2 shot is next to worthless, and something like #8 will never penetrate another home, probably won't even exit yours.

Just one caution on Low Recoil offerings. While the low recoil shells will cycle fine in a pump shotgun some semiautos don't do well on a low recoil diet.

I'd certainly run a couple of boxes through the gun if I was planning to use it for home or personal defense.

Regards