• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Mossberg Reserve Series O/U And Side-By-Side Reviews...

DHonovich

Founder
Staff member
Administrator
Sponsor
"Philanthropist"
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJcQE-Hgg18&feature=search[/youtube]

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bBTSzBhozA&feature=related[/youtube]

Thanks for posting up the videos, this is certainly one of the mossberg shotguns I have been looking into getting.

I recently bought a Silver Reserve O/U for trap shooting. I'm just a casual shooter (4 rounds of trap every Sunday) and I'm new to the sport, so I didn't want to invest a great deal of money in a Browning or Beretta right away. I also didn't want to continue shooting my 18.5" 500, which was my only shotgun. I paid $600, which I believe was a fair price. The fit and finish of the gun looks very nice, but close examination of the barrels reveals some pretty crude welds. The gun patterned 50/50 with #8 shot at 30yds.out of both barrels. For my purposes, the Silver Reserve works great. It breaks clays about as well as I could hope for. When I miss it's my fault, not the gun's.

The gun came with five chokes and a choke wrench. I read that TruLock chokes for Berettas will fit if I ever want aftermarket chokes. After about 2000 shells, the gun functions perfectly, although I have noticed what appear to be stress fractures on the breach face around the top firing pin opening. I'm crossing my fingers that the gun will last. If it doesn't, at least now I realize I like the O/U style, and I can buy a more expensive gun next time. The Silver Reserve could function as a loner for friends I introduce to the sport. I need to add that a member at my club needed to ship his Silver Reserve to Texas three times to fix malfunctions. Mossberg made it right by finally shipping him a new gun, but the process took months.