• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Brand New 4x4. Hard to cycle bolt.

03akkord5spd

Copper BB
Newbie here with a question:

I purchased a brand new 4x4 .270 a few days ago and I haven't even fired a live round yet. The bolt has been cycling through smooth and then is just a tad harder to cycle the bolt upward, before moving backward after a dry fire (only dry fired a few times). The backwards bullet extraction/insertion motion has always required minimal effort.

However, I took off the barrel to adjust the LBA trigger (left the adjustment screw where it was) and after putting the barrel back on, the bolt almost seems to be binding on the upward motion after a dry fire - making it very difficult to move the bolt handle upward. It has done this even with the barrel off the stock, so I know it isn't stock related. I've only performed this a few times as well, because I know it's not supposed to be that hard to cycle the bolt upward.

Any tips or advice will be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the group! Wish I could help, but trust me....these awesome guys in here will be helping you in no time! :) hope you get it figured out soon! Good luck.

thanks for the welcome!

UPDATE: I have been cycling it through a pretty good bit (non-dry fire) since I got it and even took the barrel off to install a bipod also. So I hit a few spots with some oil and now it does seem to cycle smoother after a dry fire. Still not as smooth as a non-fire cycle, but still more stubborn/notchy on the initial upward bolt movement.

Which brings me to my next conclusion: I know it's a cheaper entry level rifle so everything isn't going to cycle as nice as a higher end rifle. So with that being said, is the symptom I'm experiencing normal for 4x4s? I would just like to hear back from a few of you guys with firsthand feedback. Thanks again.