• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

What to do with old post ban junk?

John A.

Unconstitutional laws are not laws.
Staff member
Administrator
Global Moderator
Recently, one of my sons has expressed his interest in the Gearhead works Tailhook mod 1 brace.

In researching it more, I think I would like how they look and perform too.

With the exception that I prefer a longer buffer tube because of my long forearms. They just do not look comfortable up nearer the wrist as I see them in many pictures. Since I have no first hand experience with them, maybe I'm over thinking it, but I still think it would be more comfortable farther back on my arm.

The longest tube that I can find (that wont' accept a stock--remember, this has to be compliant) still looks short to me.

So, I remember that I had an old bushmaster awb compliant pinned stock that's been taking up dust; despised and neglected for more than a decade. And for giggles, I dig it out and look it over.

9mm hush testing 002.JPG

This is important for a few reasons.

1. The tail hook is meant for tubes that are 1.19-1.21" in diameter. Normal rifle stocks are 1.14 or 1.17".

A shoulder stock would also not fit on this tube either because it's too large of a diameter. (1.20" actually-meaning a stock wouldn't slide over the tube because it is too fat)

History lesson, ATF approved these for use during the ban because they wouldn't accept a normal AR15 shoulder stocks and made things as hard as they could for mere civilians.

2. The bottom lip of the tube is a solid forging (where the collapsible position holes are in a carbine stock) are not drilled in the ban tube as you can see in the photo above.

Also, the lip on the bottom is square and not chamfered. More proof that a shoulder stock couldn't be used on it.

OK. So, all of the above worked out to my favor for a tube of my liking for this project.