• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Failure to Extract

dude

.22LR
Supporter
I started shooting skeet and we have to use bird shot #9

Unfortunately our club only has federal ammo.

I have ‘Failure to Extract’, empty hull just binds to chamber and I have to use rod to extract one.

Do I need to polish chamber or this issue indicates something else?

Please review attached picture, i may experience this issue with 5-6 rounds per box.

No issues with 7 1/2 and 8 trap loads only skeet.

Attachments

• 20180311_165039a.jpg
    20180311_165039a.jpg
    313.1 KB · Views: 32
When I first bought my 930 SPX, it did the same thing with Federal buckshot. I called Mossberg CS and sent the shotgun to them to fix that and a couple of other issues.

I included a few fired Federal hulls in the box, just so they could see what I was talking about.

I would look at the extractor specifically before sending it off for repair.

It's possible that there is some debris or burr on the extractor that it causing it to tear the rims up like that.

Just to say it in case you didn't know, those are steel rims on those hulls. It would take a lot to chew them up like that.

In addition to the visual checks already suggested for your extractor/shell stop suggested already, honing/polishing the chamber would be the next step. More info on what your malfunctions look like when it happens would help narrow it down. Sometimes in the heat of competition it can be difficult to recall the process as you're simply trying to get the gun running in a hurry. When you have the time to analyze one, here are some observations to make that will help narrow it down:

1) How did I first know there was a problem? Did I pull the trigger and get a click? Did the next round jam into the back of one still in the chamber? Did more than one feed from the mag tube?