• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Trailgun: schockwave or .357 mag revolver?

Well.. i'm no handgun guy.. yet ;) Maybe its easier to pull a 357 from a holster ?
I think they can do the job equally good, just load the shotgun with the right shells.
Maybe from #4 buckshot and up ?
A shotgun could be good in stressed situations with a approaching cougar with its wider hit area, depending on distance ofcourse.

I'm no expert, i'm just "guessing" :)

Edit: Now i read 20g - i wrote this with 12g in mind :)

Hello,
For defense against cougars, which is better? 20g shockwave or .357 revolver?

Hello and welcome!
00 buckshot for the 20 can be hard to find and expensive when you do, #3 and #4 are more common I would imagine well placed shot from either of those loads could stop a big cat and you can always pack some 3/4 oz slugs along for the hike. Personally If I was spending very much time in predator country I would haul the .357 along just for grins!

Last edited:
If it were me, then I'd sooner carry my Taurus Judge Magnum. (Or Smith & Wesson Governor if you don't trust Taurus) .45 Colt has plenty of stopping power against Cougar and you can load .410 Bore Shotshells for anything else.

Now if I were going into Grizzly territory, then I'd carry my Shockwave, but if Cougar was the largest, fiercest animal I was likely to encounter, then the Judge just makes more sense since it weighs half of what the Shockwave does yet still packs plenty of punch.

That said, if you already own a Shockwave or a .357 Magnum Revolver, then go ahead and carry either or, but the Shockwave may be a bit better just in case you run into a Black Bear or something.

Hello,
For defense against cougars, which is better? 20g shockwave or .357 revolver?

If this is what you have either will work and while ammunition selection is important shot placement in ultimately the proof of adequacy.