• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Top mounted laser?

Hi folks, need some recommendations for a top mounted laser to put on my Nightstick. I don't want the CT one. Laser needs to be 12ga. worthy and prefer the green but, not opposed to red. Thanks in advance! TW

I have the CT Laser Saddle in green and like it a lot.

I bought it during the rebate period so the cost was
close to the "full pop retail" red laser price.

Before the Laser Saddle was announced,
I was fully intending to go with the CT CMR-206.

I had intended to get a piece of rail (about $10)
and cut it down to fit the CMR-206 and finish the
cut edge with some "Birchwood Casey Aluminum Black Touch-Up".
(I have no experience with this product
but was going to try it anyway.)

Mount the hacked up rail to the Shockwave receiver.
Mount the CMR-206 upside down to the rail.
Go shoot 'em up.

Then the Laser Saddle was announced and I went that direction instead.

so ...

I can't say whether this is a good idea or not because I never tried it,
but it's an idea.

Any quality compact pistol laser will be more than up to the task. A 12ga shot gun is powerful, but the recoil impulse is slow. Compared to having a laser near the muzzle of a .40 S&W, a receiver-mounted laser on a shotgun is barely even getting used, much less punished. If your plan is to mount the laser to a rail on the top of the receiver, just make sure that you can activate it easily with your thumb.