• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Mossberg MVP Bolt Action Reviews

"I have been watching a few youtube reviews on the MVP. I hear a lot of stuff repeated but the one thing that I don't hear anyone discuss is how the action/bolt compares to other rifles, of similar type. Is there a specific reason or benefit to how it is made over another brand? Why is a Ruger American rifle fitted with a smooth, tight fitting bolt assembly and the Mossberg is very loose? I can see that the Mossberg bolt/action will benefit in that it will probably handle dirt and trash better than a tighter fitting assembly, but I have not owned many rifles so I really can't form an opinion."

I am a noob...so reviving another old thread since no one else answered. This is just my opinion, but the sloppy bolt, I think, is because of the tongue needing to almost "flop" down and grab the next round from an AR mag? It does take some English to get it to battery as compared to my Ruger American and Ruger GSS. I found a little bit of Frog Lube on the lugs does help....maybe in my own mind?

Also, I do not like the factory mag. My 20 rnd generic runs just fine. Just looks a little goofy imho. I plan on trying MP's and the other plastic brand that has slipped my mind.....

I've had literally only two rifles. An AR and a Savage. I don't have anything else to compare it to but when I made up my mind to get a bolt action it came down to the MVP and Savage 10 (or 11 in this case). The Patriot was still fairly new and there were only a couple of MVP models. I tried the action on each just in stores. I didn't know enough that I could tell a significant difference. I tried a couple higher end guns that I definitely wasn't going to buy. Those I could tell a difference and they were smooth as glass but of the ones I would chose from, they all felt the same. Somewhat gritty at first but smooth enough.