• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

What's "wrong" with the 464

. . . the Mossberg has a totally different style of extractor which is easier to damage but far easier to replace if you know the correct way . . . .

BTW, This is not true, even if the bolt is already out. The Marlin is much easier to change, because the 464 is harder to get apart.

Usually this is an issue of design engineering tolerances (I'm an engineer that used to be a machinist, so this is right in my wheelhouse). Engineers designing components dont understand manufacturing processes, so the manufacturing engineers have a heck of a time trying to make the parts work, and there is almost never good feedback to the design engineers. On top of that, improvements (like polishing parts) add cost, so making things better makes them more pricey, and that often works against the marketing value proposition that is the basis for the entire product line.

Perfect case in point is firearms for which the #1 modification is to polish the feed ramp.

I say go ahead, get that 464 & start breaking it in. I recommend the blued & walnut version with a few tweaks....

VH53Q4z.jpg

That a beauty.

I have a feeding problem with my 464....going to have to take it apart and figure out why.
Any help is appreciated. Sometimes the bolt will not go completely forward and have too back it off again about 1/4 way and then the bolt will go home. I tried different types of ammo and doesn`t seem to make any difference.

Other
I have a feeding problem with my 464....going to have to take it apart and figure out why.

Search this topic to see if anyone else has had a similar problem and/or disassembly instructions/pictures. I think taking it apart is a good thing--look for areas that might be rubbing. Good Luck!

I have only owned leverguns for a few years, but my .30-30 and .357 are both sensitive to ammo length.