• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Changing Barrels on a 2 year old MB 500

Tiercel

Copper BB
I am far from an expert on Mossberg models but bought a Mossberg 500 tactical 12 gauge from my grandson. I pick it up tomorrow. It is about 2 years old, and I don't think it has ever been fired. He is now in the Navy. It has an 18 1/2" barrel. I assume it is an improved cylinder or such. It has a full standard black synthetic stock (no pistol grips).

I saw somewhere that a drawback of the 500 is that changing the barrel might require changing the magazine tube as well and is not as simple as a Rem 870. Is this true? Is that the advantage of the 500 Flex?

As you can see I have no idea what I'm talking about. While I want it primarily for home defense, I wondered about having an additional barrel to give it a little versatility to hunt with. I will only do that if it is fairly simple to change back and forth and not too much expense.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Tiercel

Howdy! If you want a 28” or similar for hunting or shooting clays, you should be able to find one easily. Take a look at how the barrel lug screws into the top of the magazine tube. Any other barrel you put on there needs to have this lug in the same position relative to the tube, regardless of the overall barrel length. Fortunately, almost all will fit this profile, with the exception of the 20” Security version which has to have a 7 round tube.

There are different length magazine tubes.

Most 18.5" barrels are the standard (shorter) magazine length. 5+1 capacity with the wooden dowel limiter removed. And almost all of the longer barrels are compatible.

Look at the photo in the link below. That's the standard magazine length for the 500.

https://www.mossberg.com/category/series/500/