• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Awwwww HELL.... I was going to wait until next year but I was weak

I have certain tools I will use on my VW and certain tools I do not. They may be OK, but I want the special tools.

I graduated to water-cooled VW long ago. ;) I maintain a fleet of four and just to be able to work on them instead of the dealer I have spent at least $600 on special tools. A VW-specific scan tool and 2in1 tablet to use it were $400, timing tools $100, Tri-Square sockets, etc. not to mention tools crafted out of necessity (and frugality). The attached is a special socket ($12) used to remove the timing adjuster (phaser) from the end of the camshaft. Note how it closely resembles a Torx but a Torx will strip the head of the bolt out and make removal quit difficult. The adjuster is removed to replace the chain and tensioner used to connect the two camshafts together.

camsock.jpg

I'm looking forward to it.

iu

I hope it didn’t get snatched.
:doh::doh::doh::doh:
That would be a quad-facepalm.

And everybody knows that the smoke from paper hull shotgun ammo smells distinctly different after firing than does plastic hull ammo. So there is that holding me back until the paper stuff arrives.

Some of us didn’t have a shotgun as a child and so don’t know this.

Dave, forgot to ask earlier. What generation is your SAA?

Regards

Sadly, it is not a Colt. It is a Cimarron made in Italy by Uberti, but is almost an exact copy of a Colt except for the cylinder pin being longer and the rear sight channel being slightly wider.. Cimarron places pretty high standards for their SAA guns, and mine is the Evil Roy version which got the factory gunsmith tune-up. It's a really fun gun to shoot!!!