• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Another 930 SPX Tube Capacity Problem

1sloXKR

Copper BB
Hello All,

I bought a brand new 930 SPX . I am new to shooting in general and have only shot pistols and AR rifles before. The 930 SPX was much less expensive ($769) compared to other similar semi-autos from Beretta & Benelli ($1000 plus).

Immediately, I noticed an annoying issue where the forearm (foregrip) would move or wiggle slightly. I tightened the magazine tube extension, which helped but did not completely cure the annoyance. Or3gun seems to make a product that fixes this for about $40.

At the range, I began loading 2.75” shells to test out. Advertising a capacity of 7, I was surprised to only be able to fit 4-5. I tried troubleshooting by unscrewing the factory magazine extension tube and screwing it back in again.

I eventually was able to load 7 shells, but not before multiple attempts at loading/reloading. After that, I tried to replicate and could not get 7 in the tube again.

There was also a single FTF during my test (20 slugs fired), but I did not pay attention to the exact problem due to my overall frustration with the tube capacity issue.

Looking at older Forum posts, this seems to be a known issue with the 930 SPX going back ten years. I am very disappointed that my brand new shotgun isn’t working as advertised and will be calling Mossberg tomorrow morning to see what they will do to address this.

I won’t be cutting the spring, replacing the follower, etc. on a brand new gun that should work as advertised to begin with. I’ll keep this thread updated with what comes next.

Interesting first experience’s with your Mossy. Please keep us informed about all the possible remedies. I know they are out there. You need to be patient and deliberate on the modifications.

Last edited: