• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

New to Shotguns: HD Platform Design

WGP

Copper BB
Hello, everyone. I'm new to shotguns and looking for a home defense shotgun. I have done some research and have decided to go to the experts for advice. This shotgun will be used by myself and my wife ONLY for HD. I'm not sure how to go about getting the configuration I want at the best price. Here is what I am considering. Any advice is welcome!

PLATFORM
Mossberg 500
12 Gauge
20" Barrel
8-Rounds
Bead Sight (Don't think I need Ghost Sights for HD)
Matte Black Finish (If possible)

ACCESSORIES
Blackhawk Knoxx Gen II Recoil Reducing Stock
Some type of tactical light (Either built into the forearm or attached with a clamp to the barrel)

I have looked at Mossberg's website, Academy Sports, and other websites but cannot figure out the best way to build this shotgun. Since I want to change the stock and forearm, what would be the most cost effective way to go?

Thanks for your help!

WGP

#1 welcome to MO!
#2 do you own a german pointer?
#3 if you want advice from experts whyh did you come here? :lol: just kidin, just kiddin...

So the firearm would be the 500 Persuader 20" with a matte finish which does exist! However, due to OFMs new site layout I don't know how to find it, but I believe its listed as a special purpose model.

The stock may be found on amazon for a decent price, I recently discovering that I like the ATI Talon stock though it isn't designed as a recoil reducing stock thought the grip and recoil pad are designed to absorb much of the energy transfer of the recoil. There may even be someone on here with a Knoxx stock for sale, you can check our classified section. Possibly Ebay too.