• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

500A Rolling Thunder

express

hi everyone, great site!

i recently acquired a rolling thunder on a trade. my original intent was to resell it but i only have a few dollars into it so i have decided to keep it for HD. I plan on purchasing an ATI stock & forend as well as a Brownells safety which are both no brainers.

what i need help with (because i am a shotgun novice) is getting more rounds in the tube. it is supposed to be 5+1 but the tube will only accept 2 shells. i am assuming there is some type of restrictor plug in the tube. maybe a state law requirement? the gun did come from a different state. i'm sure its an easy deal but id like your opinions and what parts if any i would need to get it back to full capacity. i'll try to post pics. thanks

B2EB0829-287E-4647-B296-AAF8D7C8DB8F-5556-000008179FCF01BB.jpg

D58E5E57-B121-41AA-BC3C-282657A7F67E-5556-00000817B65D5715.jpg

5760BF7F-61D2-450C-8F62-B38AA80880B5-5556-00000817CBBF2F05.jpg

welcome to a great site. yes there is a dowel plug from the factory. just do a search on dowel removal.

Take the barrel off and point the mag tube down and shake it.
The dowel will fall out.
It is in there to keep you legal while hunting.

So, out of morbid curiosity, can someone enlighten me as to what the can on teh end of those is supposed to be for. I find some of the mods and models coming out of Mossberg these days kind of baffling. This one of course, and the model with the big Barrett type muzzle brake on it,... what/who are these things supposed to be for?