• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Mossberg 500/590 Aftermarket Stock OPTIONS

Just picked up my 500 yesterday from the Local shop and received my ATI stock earlier this week. Can't wait to get it started.

Stock options for Persuader?

Hi. I'm a newbie so bare with me... couldn't figure out if the info I'm seeing on the forums is what I'm looking for. I've been looking at a the first shotgun for HD for my wife and I, and handled a Persuader 20-gauge at a local store. I think this will be a good fit (literally) for my wife, and it's big enough for me until I decide to move to something larger. Question: Because it's a smaller gun with a smaller stock, will it still take all of the standard aftermarket stock options for other Mossbergs? If not, can anyone point me to options for replacing the standard (and small) shoulder stock? I'm thinking of getting a combination pistol grip/shoulder stock? Will all of the options listed in the following link work for this gun?

http://www.mossbergowners.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=655

Also, I noticed that the gun is tapped and drilled for optics. Anyone have suggestion for a basic sight that would add a bit more usefulness to the rudimentary gold bead on the barrel?

Thanks for any advice!

Re: Stock options for Persuader?

Hi Tman, welcome to MO!

I believe any of the 500 stock will work on the 20 ga but will have some of the stock showing and sticking out a little around the edge or face that bolts up to the receiver. I couldn't say if the stock bolts are the same size or not.

My preference with Mossberg shotguns is a traditional stock but shorter than the factory 14" + length of pull which is the distance from the face of the trigger to the end of the stock. I've used Hogue short LOP stocks on mine but another option for the 20 ga would be to purchase a bantam or youth stock from OFM.