• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Charging Handle Loose

bu11Dawg

Copper BB
I'm brand new to owning a 715T, and brand new to this forum. Bought my rifle over the weekend, but haven't had a chance to take it out and shoot it yet. Upon first impression though, the charging handle seems really loose. There is a bit of wiggle room with it, and I was just wondering if this is normal? Sorry for the newb question, just want to make sure that I didn't get a bad piece of gear.

I believe that's normal. If you're talking about an IN/OUT movement. The handle is pushed in to lock the bolt open. That may give a little wiggle in other directions as well since it's not attached solid. Hope that makes sense and helps.

When it comes to firearms, the only stupid question is the one not asked... Or "Does it shoot real bullets?" Man that kid was wierd...

They have wiggle room in all directions due to it not being attached and its functionality. It needs to have plenty of room so it can be pulled on and pushed left so that it can lock the bolt to the rear, all while not causing severe amounts of erosion to itself or the bolt.

The magazine follower will hold the bolt/chamber open when the magazine is installed and empty (after last shot). Without a magazine the operating handle is used to hold the bolt open to the rear. Pull it back and push it in firmly. To release pull the operating handle out (away from the gun) - you can ease it forward to close the chamber or release it from the rear position to chamber a round from an inserted magazine. The 'play' is a result of it being an active, 2 position 'switch'.