• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Could use turkey advice

Rossignol

The Original Sheriff
Global Moderator
Sponsor
I need some thoughts sealing the fate of the turkeys.

I can go out without having heard any the night before or in the morning and call and get them to respond and even come towards me, in some cases very close. I called for about half an hour this morning and had one come on to the property and begin calling back only for a small flock to take flight and leave before any of us saw each other. Sometimes they get within sight but keep moving. I'm not using a decoy right now though. I've had the area all around light up with birds responding to my calls, but they aren't coming in.

Any thoughts? Is this just turkey hunting? I'm still a complete turkey hunting noob but have come a long way with calling at least just by mimicking their responses. Just wondering what I may be missing.

Sometimes they do that.
But just a couple of questions...
Are you wearing sunglasses? Take em off.
Are you well camod?
Do you move or fidget while calling? Less movement...they have great vision...
Why no decoy? Need at least one...so they see who they are responding to. It's not required but it helps...
Are you over calling? Less is more sometimes...

Rarely wearing glasses, but so far not yet this season. Last season yes, and had a hen walk all around the blind to see where the calls were coming from.

Allison is covered in head to toe in camo. I recently tried something different based on the recommendation of my neighbor. I leave the windows open in the blind and its just always black inside so I've been wearing black.