• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Coyote Hunting

Re: Who here hunts coyote?

I've been hunting coyotes for 50+ years throughout the mid-west & mid-south. It is my favorite hunting sport for more reason than I can list here. If a person can become really good at hunting coyotes, all other game seems a lot easier. Coyotes are extremely smart, tricky and they learn from experience. You might fool a 'dog' once but you'll never fool the same 'dog' again with the same tactic. I wish we could really get a column going just about coyote hunting. Now that they make a 4x4's in 22-250, 243 & 25-06, there's no reason for Mossberger's to not be coyote hunters!

Ol' Fussy

That's what I hear from everyone that I talk to that hunts coyotes. I am just getting into it so maybe I will pick your brains for some pointers one of these days.

I'd really like to do more here, theyre all over the place!

they don't taste good or not enough meat on em?

my neighbor hunts em. i'll ask him what he does with em....

ripjack13 said:
they don't taste good or not enough meat on em?

my neighbor hunts em. i'll ask him what he does with em....

Not for eatin. Skin em. Theyre predators and nuisance varmints. They get into chickens and rabbits and bird pens. Sometimes take turkey.

They arent endangered in any way, and their numbers sometimes increase dramatically. Here, in the winter when food gets scarce, they come out of the woods and onto the property. In numbers they arent afraid of humans and could even take a small child (like my youngest) or a pet.

I've never heard of anyone eating one, but then again....people do eat some strange critters out there :lol:

Around Oregon, we hunt them for the pelts, which used to bring in some decent $$'s. But the economy is slowing things way down.