• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Exotic Ammunition for 12 gauge

UFCGUY1

Copper BB
I recently found out that besides the typical slug, buck shot ammo; that there is a wide variety of 'exotic' ammunition out there available for my new Mossberg 500 Mariner to shoot!

I'm new to shotguns, will this type of ammo harm my new shotgun? I.E. Dragons breath rounds, double slug rounds????

I've never fired any of these rounds. I've seen vid for the dragon breath, but never fired any. I really dont know what it will do?

I dont think any manufacturer will tell you its ok to fire stuff like that through your gun. I think telling you its ok makes them liable if anything does happen, so theyre going to say to use only the recommended shells or loads.

Thats not to say the firearm cant handle it, just that it doesnt fall into the category of recommended shot.

Sorry I cant be more helpful here.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=paPJqUA86jw[/youtube]

One of these days I will pick up some exotic rounds to fire out of my Mossberg 500. I would really like to try the dragons breath.

Years ago I use to shoot Dragon's Breathe often, it cost half of what it cost today. We would shoot it through mock doors with silhouettes about ten feet behind them. Here in Az. you should have an extinguisher on hand when shooting targets or objects because of the mostly very low humidity. The link is to the new mfg of the original makers of Dragon's Breathe(they make all kinds of exotic ammo). None of it's cheap.

https://ssl.perfora.net/www.atlasammo.c ... shopscript