• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

How to use the bead?

scottcc

.22LR
I’m new to shotguns and recently bought a tactical 930 semi auto with bead sight. Instead of “upgrading” to ghost ring sights or optics, I’d like to learn how to use the traditional bead sight. Yes I’m sure that YouTube might have a few videos on it, but instead of getting maybe bad advice. I’m asking for proven advice and maybe YouTube videos that will give me sound methods.
The shotgun seems to fit me naturally, that I can get the bead picture centered over the receiver effortlessly, if that’s good start.

That's really all you have to do is line up the bead.

Bead sights are much faster to point/aim than other things where you have to line up multiple points on the gun.

Point squeeze.

It's really no harder than that.

I will mention, you'll need to pattern the gun and pattern it at varying distances so you'll know if you need to "hold over".

Hardly any shotguns shoot true point of aim and even then, with how shot shells work, no two shells will be exactly alike either but you'll get an idea after seeing the "pattern" where you need to aim. But with some time behind it, you'll be busting clays or seeing squirrels fall out of trees and hear the thud before you know it.

Get some cheap shells and some pizza box lids or some cheap poster paper and have at it. Once you figure out where to aim, shoot something smaller. I like pop cans.

If you can hit a pop can and put a bunch of pellets in it, you'll be able to hit a rabbit or squirrel.

It just takes time to get comfortable and familiar with it.

But that's the fun part :)

John makes very good points.

So many folks believe a shotgun is a scatter gun and doesn't need to be aimed.