• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Is there an acceptable misfire % for the 500?

Bean

.22LR
Hello forgive my ignorance. I'm new to shot gunning.

2 years ago I bought a brand new in the box 500. Its for the cabin for bear/wolf protection.

Twice a year it goes to the range for practice, and other than a bore snake I have not cleaned it as my manual says to do so after 200 rds.

A few weeks ago it started misfiring about 6-8 out of 50 or so shots. I thought it was maybe the ammo as I tried out a new brand.

Yesterday I did a complete field strip and complete clean/degrease with some powder blast.

I didn't completely strip,down the bolt (got scared when one of the pins wouldn't hammer out) but,it got a thorough soaking.

Just got back from the range today and I still had 2 misfires out of 50 rds of buckshot, and 10 slugs.

I also retried 5 rds that didn't,go off last month. All fired except one.

What is an acceptable misfire,rate? I'd like to think zero. Bear vs slug, I,win. Bear vs misfire, bear wins.

If this is not acceptable then what is my next step? Warranty? (I have to pay shipping) or should a gunsmith take a look?

Should I just replace the bolt, and upgrade the trigger ? Upgrade the hammer spring?

File down something in the trigger assembly?

One,thing I did notice is that I cannot press the firing pin by hand so that it pokes out of the bolt. The spring is extremely tight. If I push the bolt down on a hard surface I can get the pin to poke out.

Should I replace the bolt spring, or maybe cut a bit of it off? Maybe take the washer out of the bolt?

I've read a lot on the web (maybe too much.)

Any thoughts?

Thanks

How do the primer strikes look on ALL your ammo that went thru a trigger press? Are the indents exactly the same across the board? Slightly different between ammo that went bang and ammo that went click?