• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Learning the Savage Hog Hunter .223

Rossignol

The Original Sheriff
Global Moderator
Sponsor
I'm new to long range shooting. I had an AR some time ago and made a couple long shots with it on targets. I'm finding that having 30 rounds ready to go also meant I was less careful with my shots because I had many more rounds available to back me up. With the bolt gun I'm taking my time and am being much more deliberate.

I don't have a lot of photos of targets which I realize is almost like breaking some unwritten Cardinal Rule but work with me for now.

Here's my philosophy for this rifle. It's intended primarily to deal with predators. I'll use commonly available ammunition, stuff that's easy to find on shelves. I don't want to get into ammo I have to order so I want to find something I like and keep plenty of it and get good with it. I don't expect to shoot clover leaf patterns at long distance. I expect my longest shot to be about 250 yards.

The rifle is the Model 11 Hog Hunter short action .223. It has the accutrigger but not the accustock. It's not the least bit bedded but the trigger is creep free with a nice break.

I have less than 100 rounds through the gun so far. My first time sighting in I was able to get to 1.19 MOA with Hornady TAP FPD 55 gr and 1.25 MOA with American Eagle FMJ 55 gr black box. I was shooting from a seated position with the rifle rested on a backpack. There was a measurable difference in POI between those two loads.