• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Looking at guns

amkeeney

Copper BB
Well I'll start off by saying hello. I am looking for a self defense gun but would really love to do some hunting as well. As far as for self defense I really have loved the pump action shotgun in the stores such as the 500 and 510. However, I read an interesting article online that suggested a pump action shotgun although it may scare some people away it may only give away your position to the intruder who may also be armed. What is everyone's thoughts on this? BTW the part I loved the most is when I pumped it and the big burly guy behind me jumped out of his skin..hehe.
Also I live in close quarters with small children and am quite concerned with harming them in the process of stopping an intruder. I am a nurse so I make absolutely no distinction between stopping an intruder and killing them. I only intend to ever shoot if it means that I also take the responsibility of killing them to protect myself or my family.
I'm looking at doing some turkey hunting and also would love to hunt whitetail deer. I understand I am going to need several weapons but if there are any guns that could double such as for hunting turkey and also for home defense please let me know. The guys in the store seemed to think I could do both with the shotgun they were showing me but from what I am reading on the forums they could have just been trying to make the sale.

The Mossberg 500 12 gauge will do everything you want to do with just a couple of different barrels. I have a 500 that I bought with a 28" barrel that accepts removable chokes. A few years later I bought a 18-1/2" barrel for defensive use. I can hunt birds, turkey, deer, shoot clays, and defend myself and my family with the one gun.