• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Mossberg 930 Sporting Clay Reliability

Jarzola818

Copper BB
Hey guys thanks for approving my account! Im glad i found you guys and im hoping i can get some help/feedback.

I own 2 Mossberg 500's and so far they both have performed flawlessly. I started shooting Sporting Clays with a buddy of mine with my Mossberg 500. It was a challenge but was really fun. From then on i was hooked. I have shot at some fun shoots and scored in the low 70's. All the better shooters shot semi autos or over/unders. I am looking to purchase a mossberg 930 in the near future and would like to have some real life feedback on the reliability of this gun. Preferably the all purpose model.

Does it shoot target loads consistenly? 1200fps #7.5, #8, #9.

Do you guys recommend cleaning after so many rounds to maintain reliability?

Break in period to become more reliable?

What extended chokes do you guys recommend?

Any feedback would be great! This shotgun will be used exclusively for sporting clays, skeet, or five stand. Cant have this 930 becoming a single shot shotgun when it matters the most. Sorry for being so negative but i have heard positives and negatives. I would love to beat some of these guys shooting $1700+ dollar guns. Nothing against these guys or their guns.

Thanks guys!

I purchased my 930 SPX for three gun events. However, it has been relegated to skeet and sporting clays duty after having to replace several parts (Trigger assembly, piston, several pusher assemblies, ect). My 930 runs great for skeet and sporting clays. For three gun, I am saving money for an M2.

I've only had one issue with my 930. I did not clean it when I first got it and tried to shoot skeet in near zero temps. The grease in it thickened up and rendered it a single shot. After cleaning it out really good I've yet to have another issue with it.