• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

My new laser sight

Wrenches

.270 WIN
I ordered a laser sight from OpticsPlanet and it came in yesterday. I have it mounted on my HiPoint 4095TS carbine. I took it to the range today and I found that the laser drifts to the right. I'm new to this so is it defective? Or something that happens to everyone at times.

It's a NC Star ARLSG Green Laser Sight. By the way I sent an Email to OpticsPlanet about it.

Could you be more specific about what "drifts to the right" means?

And I must beg your pardon, but from what hardware store did that mount come from?

It means that I have to readjust the screw back to where I had it set. The mount came with the laser.

The quality of NC Star stuff is pretty spotty.

I've had a couple of their products that were decent for the price, but others that were complete junk. If you're having to recalibrate the laser after a few shots, then it is definitely not doing what it's supposed to. Most of the NC Star stuff I ever used went on .22lr or small caliber rifles. Don't think I would ever expect any of their products to hold up under the abuse of 12 gauge recoil.

Mounting things to a shotgun or larger caliber carbine separates quality products from cheaply made crap in a big hurry...

Might have been.

Have you contacted the manufacturer or OpticsPlanet to see what options you have?

20 rounds and the carbon is going to start to cover the lens if you keep it mounted there

I went with crimson trace.
I will mount it soon and give it a whirl and report back.

Sent from my Apple Newton in 1993 with 640k of RAM

I like hi point carbines. Wish I had one.

Also, nice amp in the background ;)