• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

New guy on the block needs opinions on tentative purchase.

newontheblock

Copper BB
I'm new to shotguns. Served in the Army Infantry in the mid sixties and qualified as expert on all weapons except the .45 caliber handgun (I think mine was built in 1911). I'm now retired, have a concealed carry license, a .380 handgun with a laser sight, and a lever action .44 Magnum rifle with scope.
My main desire is to improve our home defense (influenced a bit by aesthetics). I'm considering purchasing a Mossberg 930 Tactical model 85336 (with heat shield), and equipping it with a Nordic Components "MXT" "+1" 12 Ga, extension kit; a G,G&G sling and flashlight mount (P/N 665-16225); and a Streamlight TLR-1 HL LED tactical flashlight, P/N 69260. I have no intention of adding a sling for home defense.
I didn't choose the 930 SPX model because I didn't think the sights improved in-close defense, and only added cost and bulk. I didn't choose the 85330 (no heat shield) Walmart model for $33.43 less simply because I like the looks better with the heat shield. Likewise, the Nordic +1 kit, at an added cost of $68.90 was as much for increased looks, as increasing capacity by one round. The Streamlight HL flashlight for $129.77, however, seems to me like a total necessity, because I believe home defense will most likely be required during times of natural disasters or civil unrest, when normal lighting is no longer available, and the strobe light function might further disorientate criminals minds already distorted by drugs, alcohol and simple greed.
Any suggestions or thoughts you might offer?

Welcome aboard and thank you for serving Sir.

I have the model 85336 you're looking at and it's been great...