• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Novice needs accessory advice for home defense

dwally

.22LR
Hello everyone, thanks for taking the time to read this and hopefully provide some advice.

I have a mossberg 500 20 ga that I purchased for home defense about a year ago. I opted for the 20 ga because it's currently the only weapon in the home and I wanted my wife to be able to handle it. Anyway, we had a situation the other night that made me realize I need to do more with the gun.. Long story short, we had a uninvited guest lurking in the back yard, and I could have used some additional features.

As I said in the title, I'm a novice when it comes to guns so please bear with me. Right now I have no mounts or anything on the gun, its just right out of the box with a 5 round magazine and I opt to keep the shorter barrel on it.

1 - I KNOW I want to add a flashlight and laser pointer. What I don't know if its best to mount this on the magazine or where the scope would be. I'm leaning toward the scope area because I like that it would be close to the other areas I'm going to be touching when I grab the weapon in a rush. I'm obviously open to advice if I am looking at this wrong and would value any suggestions on specific products.

2 - I'm considering changing the stock from the factory one. Even with the short barrel, when I had to go outside, the gun seemed a little too long for my liking while going through the door. That being said, any stock I get MUST at the very least have the same recoil as the factory stock. Again, my wife needs to be able to handle the weapon, and right now she prefers to shoot from the hip because the recoil is borderline to much. Yes, even the 20 GA. Specific recommendations would really be appreciated or even advice on how to go through the door. (Its a little narrow)