• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Shotgun Headspacing and Foreign Ammo

CaddmannQ

.50 BMG
I found something interesting on Shotgun World, and thought it was particularly worth reposting.

I know all common shotguns headspace on the rim, like most old-fashioned cartridges do, but I didn't consider the difference between American and foreign guns and American and foreign ammunition!

And I should have, because as an engineer I've worked on lots of Metric-American projects before, for both construction and manufacturing.

Generally speaking, different industries use different "soft" metric conversions & foreigners use "soft" American conversions. This means you don't just put two numbers into a calculator and come up with the size.

Those conversions get "doctored" to allow for a number of manufacturing realities (which are too involved to explain right here.)

So remember this when you stick a Rio in that Mossberg.
. .

( the following is reposted from shotgunworld.com)

This is something that (the late) Ralph Walker had to say about shotshell headspace.....

"A few years ago I was on an assignment to a manufacturer in Brazil who was exporting a shotgun to the United States. My job was to solve some problems and to arrive at a set of specifications on the chamber. A sample gun was built at the research and development department of the factory and I thoroughly tested it on the company range. The sample gun performed flawlessly with excellent shooting results. As all testing was done with shotshells manufactured in Brazil, the final step was to bring the gun back to the States for the same tests with American shotshells.