• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Soon to be 930 owner

Hi,
I'm new to mossberg shotguns. I really don't have a whole bunch of experience with shotguns in general. I'm looking to buy a 930 used. I've found one locally with the door breaching barrel and another (SPX model) online that I'm interested in. I prefer the sights on the SPX more. With that being said I've read on here that a lot of front sights are canted. Assuming everything visually checks out good, what would you do besides disassembling and cleaning them when you get home? The actions seem a little rough, does anyone here recommend polishing vital parts to enhance operation? I'll primarily be using it to different tasks (Home defense, target shooting, hunting). I also plan on buying a 28" hunting barrel for bird hunting. Are barrel swaps pretty easy, yet remaining reliable? Thanks for your help.

I would recommend just giving it a good cleaning to clear up the rough action. Shouldn't need anything other than that. If you're concerned there's something actually mechanically wrong with it, make sure the owner checks it out first before you buy it.
As for the barrel, it literally takes about 10 seconds to change the barrel, with no affect on reliability. Just make sure the barrel is fully seated and the nut is tightened until it doesn't click anymore.
Whenever you clean it make sure you clean the gas system very well, clean the bolt, concentrating on worn areas, and apply lube. I recommend using Frog Lube. I love the stuff.