• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

SPX CHOATE EXT. 100% RELIABILITY, HOW MANY???

TAZZD

Copper BB
I'm new to this 930 SPX, but I knew this gun has had teething problems from the get go. In another post I listed my simple problem and easy fix, I now have 845 rounds thru this beast without one FTF or FTE.

At what point does someone consider the NC mag extension over the factory Choate, with a simple follower change I see the upmost reliability someone could ask for.

Please let us know your results.

I have never had a FTF on only once have I had a FTE. That one FTE was a shell 3-1/2 mag that was over length when fired. My Choate extension has never given me any problem even since I shortened the +5 to a +4 so it didn't stick out past the barrel when I use my 24 inch rifled barrel on my 835.

"At what point does someone consider the NC mag extension over the factory Choate, with a simple follower change I see the upmost reliability someone could ask for.

Please let us know your results."
Mossberg 930- can be finicky...

I am almost at that point, or just to forget about a mag. extension completely. I got the +3 Choate to fit a 24" barrel and perhaps stick out an inch on a Home Defense bbl. Sending it back today. Could not get the gun to cycle properly. I tried the factory stock follower, tried barely tightening the end cap, and the last shell would not get into the magazine easily. Seems the brass would hang up on the loading gate, and IMO, the Choate does not have enough room for 7 rounds (the +3). The last shell seemed to have only a 1/2 inch to spare.
No matter what I tried, it got worse the more I tried. No matter what I did, the shells would not cycle out of the tube into the loading port. I think the spring is perhaps the main issue. It is too long and would have to be trimmed, just as the directions of the Nordic site specify.