• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Target distance for range shooting

After having watched various videos on YouTube, it seems as though most people recommend the 7 yard distance for determining home defense round grouping. Since I am a total newbie to guns period I would like the input of the members.
Agree?
Disagree?
Reasons
Thanks for the input.

I assume you're talking about handgun or shotgun and what would be termed 'snap' shots under stress, in less than perfect conditions - not taking time to acquire a sight picture or assume a formal shooting position for example. Then you ought to be able to hit a full frontal human size target at the range you mentioned with a little practice. Any gun is capable of doing this at such short range. The biggest variable is you. :)

PS: If pistol, you might want to read thru the USMC pistol training manual. http://www.marines.mil/Portals/59/Publi ... anship.pdf

Is there a distance in your home longer than 21 feet? Most self defense shots are at about ten feet or less.

Practice what makes you fell comfortable in your home.

Jeff

Sent from my Droid. Spelling errors are the phone. Logic errors probably aren't...

Gunny, I am referring to "snap" shooting in low light, high stress situation using either a 12 gauge shotgun or 9mm pistol.
Thanks for the link, I will read it.
Jeff, I think the longest distance would be roughly 30 feet from the end of the hallway the bedrooms are off of to the far end of the living room.
Thanks for the feedback, I'll probably start at 10 feet and then move the target progressively farther away as my proficiency increases.

RoanokeYankee said:
Gunny, I am referring to "snap" shooting in low light, high stress situation using either a 12 gauge shotgun or 9mm pistol.
Thanks for the link, I will read it.