• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

To "Pro" or not to "pro"

Hello all! Just joined this forum, but I recognize the admin here from the NJGF. :)

I'm fairly new to shot guns but I've been shooting several at some local events, and now it's time to purchase my own. But which one?

I'm pretty much set on the 930 (semi-auto) series. I have shot both a standard 930 and a JM-Pro. I'm not knowledgeable enough to judge if a JM-Pro is worth the extra $$$ or not (over a standard 930), so any help in that area would be greatly appreciated.

Just some general newbie questions -

1) How available are JM-Pros, currently? Judging from my search results on Gunbroker and other tools, they seem to be rather scarce and selling pretty much at MSRP. Even the 3rd party site to which Mossberg webpage points to "Buy Now" goes to a site that says, "Out of Stock."
Are they (JM-Pros) still manufactured?

2) Stock 930 (std) models, are "New Jersey legal" at 4+1 capacity (max in NJ for semi-auto is 6+1), as long as there's no pistol grip. Obviously, a JM-Pro at 8+1 and 9+1 would require a mod to reduce the mag tube to 6+1. Is that easily accomplished and not a "permanent" mod (in the event I ever move out of NJ to a friendlier state)?

3) What are the general differences between the standard 930 and the JM-Pro, other than mag capacity?

4) Just out of curiosity, is Mossberg still based in Connecticut? I was wondering if they plan to vacate, due to the extra laws/regs...

Thanks very much for any/all thoughts.

Regards,
HB

HBecwithFn7 said:
Hello all! Just joined this forum, but I recognize the admin here from the NJGF. :)

I'm fairly new to shot guns but I've been shooting several at some local events, and now it's time to purchase my own. But which one?