• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Total Newbie - Overwhelmed by choices (500 vs 590 vs 590A1 & more)

Spanky

Hello all, I've been browsing this forum and others for a while, trying to figure out which direction to go for my first purchase. I'm not totally new to guns, I've used a couple Mossberg 500's and just love how they work. I am however new to buying a new gun and I want to make the right investment for my needs. I'll try to organize this post but chances are good I'll start rambling a few times. Basically, I'm looking for advice for my needs and opinions about my line of thinking.

Needs/Considerations:
I live in a semi-rural area, just outside a small town. As such, I'm not concerned too much about home defense. I mean, it's a thought in the back of my mind, just not a primary concern. So, I don't need a super-tactical shotgun with shortest possible barrel. What do I need? Primary concerns are pest/vermin control and woods self defense. I've used a youth model 500 with either a 22" or 24" barrel and unknown choke to take down a pesky rabbit at 45 yards. I'd like to continue to do that. I'd also like to have something that I can sling over my shoulder and carry in the woods for bigger predators. I hear of wolves and cougars attacking people and running into a smaller bear is certainly possible. I'd like to be confident in loading up some magnum buckshot and slugs to remedy any of those situations in the woods.

Sure, I could carry a .357 magnum or similar for a woods carry and use a .410 choked up for smaller pests. But that brings me to the 'why' part below.