• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Where to Mount My Red / Green Dot

Newbie question here.
I have a Mossberg Persuader 7+1 with a 20" barrel. I'm new to shooting and have surprised myself with my accuracy with my handguns, so... for fun I decided to get a rail and a Konus 7247 based on the recommendation of my local gun shop. I realize my Mossberg is designed as a Home Defense piece but I'm curious to see how accurate I could be with it. I'm also considering buying the 28" barrel available for this model. (No 24" rifled barrel is available for the 7+1).

Finally! My question- Where on the rail do I mount the sight? On the rear close to my eye? I noticed that this gives the widest range, but my 52 year old eyes see the dot a bit fuzzy here. On the front of the rail? It narrows the view considerably but the dot is REALLY crisp.

Please advise!
Thanks!

Welcome to the Forums, Brad! I have just upgraded my old 5+1 to the 7+1 with a new mag tube and barrel. You would be surprised at how accurate you can already be with the bead sight and slugs! Went shooting to day and I did pretty well shooting clays! Give the bead sight a chance too!

What 28" barrel is available for the 8 shot tube??

Mounting the dot will be different for everyone for the reasons you stated above. Mine rides as far back on the rail as possible where is offers a wide FOV and the dot presents nice and crisp...

Move yours back and forth as needed until you find your sweet spot...

What 28" barrel is available for the 8 shot tube??[/quote]

There is a Part number 90241 28" barrel available from Mossberg for $133. I understand you have to order it and then they make it so it'll take 3-4 weeks.