• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

I don't want to shoot through my house and into my neighbors' so which shotgun ammo?

I am completely new to all types of firearms. I purchased a Mossberg 12-gauge semi-auto 930 SPX "Tactical" for home defense and I expect to pick it up this week. The homes in my Southern California neighborhood are wood frame stucco and built close together. On one side of my house my neighbor is only 15' away.

I know not to use slugs and/or probably buckshot, but how far down to I need to go to stop a bad guy in my home without risking my neighbors? #6, #7, #8? The furthest distance I would need to shoot inside my home is about 30'

Appreciate any feed back as this is all new to me.

15 feet to your neighbor?

Just about any shotgun pellet can penetrate that far. Even birdshot.

On one side, yes, 15'. Land is expensive and some homes in Orange County CA, especially near the beach, are built very close together. That is not good news what you're telling me, but thank you!

John A.,

Can I clarify what you're saying......If I use birdshot it can penetrate through the walls of my house and pass through the walls and into my neighbor's house.....? If that's true, I guess I'll have to ask the bad guy(s) to move a bit so I can shoot them.

I have done pattern testing at 20 yards before using scrap sheetrock. Even the bare empty wad will make a big hole through 1/2" sheetrock.

The thing with a shotgun, it takes about 15 yards for the shot to separate from the wad, so you essentially have a big slug moving out of the barrel.