• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Recent content by mikeoso

1. M

#3 Buckshot?

It's what I keep mine loaded with; 20 pellets of .25 caliber moving at 1200 fps...fired from my 500C with the 18.5" barrel it patterns about 4" at 5 yards and 8.5" at 10 yards. Seems adequate to me. I wouldn't use it on bear or moose, but we almost never have any of them breaking into homes here.
  2. M

New to Shotguns: HD Platform Design

I'm a relative newbie to shotguns, but have a long experience with firearms and tactical shooting. I start from the fact that HD is NOT combat. HD is that home invader/burglar/whatever in the middle of the night, inside the house, when he's awake and you're at least half asleep. So, what you...
  3. M

Machetes

Now for something completely different... I found this WWII USMC bolo in a junk shop. It had damaged grips, a rusty blade, and a dried out scabbard; these units are famous for being heavy and awkward, and I have use for something I can use to lop branches in tight quarters; so I rebuilt the...
  4. M

What IS tactical?

TACTICAL TYPES Let me preface this by saying that it's going to make some people really mad. Let me also say that I know this stuff from long experience of all of these types of folks. I have been a Marine in combat. I have been an instructor at a law enforcement academy. I have been around guns...
  5. M

The Future of Mossberg? I hope not...

Perhaps...but it's more commonly applied to one of the complications of malaria, in which the kidneys fail.
  6. M

Iowa

Eastern IA here...between Iowa City and Muscatine. I live in the country, and go out in the back yard to shoot, unless what I'm shooting at happens to run into the front yard, or the driveway, or...OK, you get it. I also have a little 60 yard range backed up against an old barn, with a backstop...
  7. M

One of my sons is now a Marine