• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

702 lighter trigger

BowerR64

.270 WIN
Has anyone tried to lighten the 702 trigger?

IMO its nice right out of the box, one of the few that ive liked right from the box but since i have 2 702s and 2 715s ide like to try and lighten one of the 702s

Im pretty sure i know what needs to be changed but wasnt sure if anyone has tried it yet and ran into problems or if there is a kit or something? maybe a different model or similar design by another brand maybe that had a lighter trigger?

Any input would be great.

First i want to start by saying THIS IS A HARD JOB. If your not good at taking things apart and if you dont have a decent set of tools dont try this. Its a pretty tricky job. The work isnt that bad but the assembly of the trigger group will REALLY test your patience.

Im not a gun expert or a gunsmith so my terms im sure are wrong but try and stick with me. The 702 has 3 parts to the trigger pull the first part is what i call the takeup its a springy kind of pull but nothing catches. Second part you feel some catch with a little bit of creep then it breaks.

What ive done is shorten and smooth out the creep so its a nice clean break.

First remove the trigger housing, if you dont know how to do that then you need to stop here and learn that part first. Get good with that then come back.

Laying the trigger housing on its back side (ejection port up barrel to the right) ive marked the pins you remove as T P (trigger pin) H P (hammer pin) and S P (spring pin) and the safety so you know how its positioned.

First remove the Hammer pin, leave the spring pin this keeps the hammer and spring from flying out. After you remove the hammer pin then remove the spring pin.

Carefull here the smaller pins can fall out!