• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Building a Game Cart

Gary Murray

.270 WIN
I am getting ready to build a game cart as there is an area i hunt that is motor vehicle restricted. Sure i could pay the money and buy one but i always look at how often i will use it when i fork out any kind of money for something. I snagged up a busted wheel chair for a $1.00 at a special needs yard sale and the wheels on it are the only part i'm interested in. I'm a licensed welder so i could probably easily weld the frame or i could make a box and attach the wheels with a handle. If any of you have made something like this then please post your pics so i can maybe get some ideas from you or even give me some tips.

I'll be interested in seeing what you come up with too. I was planning on getting a Gorilla Cart because of the weight carrying capacity. I can find them used occasionally for about $80.00 around here. But I live in a Codo and have too much stuff already. Plus where I hunt is usually mountainous, no vehicles allowed etc. Just not sure how much use I would get out of it. But I am looking for a way to pack out a deer without having to debone it in the field.

I did a search on "home made game carts and came up with this link. There are tons out there for ideas though. Good luck. Have a great day.

http://www.cthuntingnshooting.com/vBfor ... -Game-Cart

Paul

Thanx Raven. There's only one area here that i am interested in where you can't drive and i will only hunt in there in the late season a few times or maybe if i get my September sheep draw. It's a steep, hour walk uphill to get to where i want to hunt in there and i want something to pack a small camp in and everything out including an animal.

Let me just add, that if you are going uphill & you'll be coming down it...look into adding a brake system. The pics that are on that forum have none....