• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Newbie Question: Bottom of Front Bead Sight Screw Exposed and Barrel Scratches/Rust

Hi all, I took apart my brand new shotgun today to do an inspection of parts and to clean it. It still hasn't been fired by me. I am a complete newbie. Please see the attached pictures.

Should the bottom of the front beat screw be slightly exposed inside the barrel? When I can my finger over it, I can slightly feel it. Wouldn't it get in the way of the shell coming out?

Also, there is some scratches/roughness just inside the barrel on the muzzle end. Is this normal?

Thanks for your time and patience for my newbie questions.
IMG_20200507_134227.jpg IMG_20200507_134210.jpg IMG_20200507_134113.jpg

What Fellman said. Remove bead before filing a little bit at a time and putting back and checking until bead threads no longer protrude. I agree that the scratches and bead protruding are not acceptable with a new gun. A blemish here and there is to be expected but yours could affect function. I don't know if the gun was sold as "refurb" or something like that...

I dunno, Weezy. This sure does not look like a new shotgun, even though I see the butt stock has the "Maverick" sticker on it. Like Bobster said above, yours could be a "refurb". As regards the "Maverick" sticker, new butt stocks can be had on E-Bay, mounted on a used firearm and then passed off as "new". If you paid the price for a factory brand new shotgun you shouldn't have to do maintenance on it as soon as you get it home. I recommend you return it to the dealer for an exchange or refund.