• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Shockwave newbie bunch of random questions

Skullynyng

Copper BB
Just got my shockwave over the weekend. It's my first shotgun (yes I know it's technically a firearm). But I do have some questions. Which 590 parts are compatible with the shockwave? And can I turn it back into a 590 and back to a shockwave.

Sent from my SM-G930U using Tapatalk

Hey Skull. Welcome to the Shockwave forum. I am not an expert, but the Shockwave receiver is a 590. Be careful if you change the rear grip or the barrel. Overall length is important. If you plan to make changes, there are lots of knowledgeable folks here to give advice. If this is your first "shotgun" I recommend caution with your forward hand, keeping it away from the end of the barrel. Don't let rapid fire, "hotdog" fun get your hand blown off. The Shockwave is a GREAT weapon that deserves a great deal of respect, and enjoyment. Personally, I have done "improvements", and still fantasize over other ideas. This is one of the most fun and exciting guns to be available.

As far as I know any 590 part in the receiver should fit. That includes the extended safety, rails, and side saddles. While you can put a 590 stock and barrel on the Shockwave, once you do that it is illegal to return it to the Shockwave configuration. While the odds of getting caught are very small, it will still send you to jail. The BATFE rules are not logical but are real. As Rico said, be careful with the Shockwave. It is a fun gun to shoot but takes getting used to. Start with low brass, lower recoil shells to get used to how the gun reacts when you shoot it. Be very careful if you hold the gun up to sight down the barrel. Don't let it sock you in the face from the recoil. Watch some videos on the web and you will learn a lot. Ask any question you have here. There are many members willing to help you. Enjoy.