• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Shockwave Trigger Group

Rico

20g
Supporter
Hey,
Newbie here. I have a Shockwave on order and wondered if it will come with a plastic or metal trigger housing? I want metal. I have already been to Numrich to see what is available for the 590 and there's no mention what they are made of, but, they are sold out, so I suspect they are metal. I have not tried to contact Mossberg yet.

My Shockwave has a plastic trigger guard. The Shockwave is built on the 590 receiver. Not the 590A1. Which means the Shockwave also has a plastic safety button, in case that matters to you.

http://mossbergowners.com/forum/index.php?threads/what-are-the-differences-among-the-500-590-and-590a1.252/

"the 590A1 features some changes specifically to meet military standard 3443. The changes made to meet the military's stringent standards include a heavy wall barrel, and metal (aluminum alloy) trigger gaurd and safety button. The 590A1 receiver is also stamped on the left side with "M590A1"."

*edit* - Upon further thought, the Shockwave could be considered a blend of both the 590 and the 590A1 platforms. It has a heavy wall barrel like the A1 designation requires, but does not have the aluminum trigger guard, nor is it stamped 590A1 on the left side of the receiver.

Either way you want to skin this cat is fine. You can drop in a 590A1 trigger group with zero modifications. It's not exactly cheap, though.

Brownell's link to 590A1 trigger assembly. $168.

I personally believe there are other plastic parts that should be replaced before worrying about the trigger guard :)

ngyg7BL.jpg

Last edited:
Your answer is spot on. Thanks.
What other plastic should I consider changing?
I like the wood furniture on your Shockwave....very nice.
It looks like you changed your front bead and the safety button.

Your answer is spot on. Thanks.