• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

Ulti-Mag Miss-Fire

TXTurkey

Copper BB
Good morning. I'm new to the thread in search of help. I have a Ulti-mag that is somewhere around 15 years old. It's seen a LOT of use. Last year I started having problems with the occasional misfire where the pin would strike the primer but the shell didn't fire. I tried new shells, different brands, same result. The problem has progressed to the point that it will rarely fire a shell at all. I saw an old post by darcerly0810 on April 12, 2012 on the exact same problem I'm having but I did not see any post on resolution to his problem. The following is what I've done so far:

1) Complete disassembly of the gun including the bolt, clean, reassemble, same problem.
2) I Had the gun and trigger assembly ultrasonically cleaned, same problem.
3) Replaced the firing pin and firing pin spring, same problem.

If I jam the forearm forward to put a new shell in as hard as you possible can, it seems to fire every time. But, when I cycle through under normal, reasonable pressure, it will not fire.

Any thoughts? Is replacing the entire trigger assembly next?

Thanks!

Aaron

Have you inspected.the barrel? Is there a buildup that is preventing the rounds from chambering completely without excess pressure?

I would also check where the bolt and barrel look up to make sure there is not excessive wear or buildup in that area.

Another thing I might check is the hammer spring.