• Mossberg Owners is in the process of upgrading the software. Please bear with us while we transition to the new look and new upgraded software.

My First Pump Shotgun and Needing Help!!

xxlane

Copper BB
Hello everyone, I am new to this.
I purchased a new Mossberg 500 pump today 8-shot. My question is ? I have to pull back on the forearm very hard and quick to get another shell into chamber. Is this normal or will it get better over time, if it doesn't I just as good with my old single shot!!
I have just shot 2 shells through it. It seems to not push the thing that stops the shells on the side.
Thought I would ask someone before taking it apart or sending it back.
Thanks for all the info on your site and your help.

Welcome aboard and congrats on the new 500!

Looks to me like you may just need a good field strip and thorough cleaning. That's where I'd start with a new gun. There's no telling how long it sat before you got your hands on it. The action on new guns can be pretty stiff at first, so I wouldn't be too worried about it. Give it a good cleaning and a new coat of oil, then put a few boxes of shells through it. I'm sure you'll have the action running like butter in no time.

We've got a great group of folks here on Mossberg Owners and the atmosphere is very laid back. The only thing we like better than discussing each other's guns is lookin at 'em, so be sure to post up some pics of your 500 and any other firearms you own the various sub-forums. Let us know if you have any questions and good luck with your decision.

Enjoy the site!

xxane;

Welcome aboard;

New guns often need to break in. Keep in mind pumps need to be cycled briskly, they tend to malfunction most when the slide is babied. I suggest you use dummy ammo and cycle the gun quite a bit to work out any machining burrs or tight fits. Dummy ammo allows you to do it safely if not on the range